GilGil Constituency (Sub-County) – Nakuru County

Gilgil Constituency

Gilgil is a Constituency in Nakuru County. The Constituency was created in 2013 with the advent of devolution. Initially, Gilgil was part of Naivasha Constituency.

Gilgil has a population of 185,209 as of the 2019 census. It is divided into 5 wards namely;

  1. Gilgil Town,
  2. Murindat (Morendat),
  3. Elementaita,
  4. Eburru- Mbaruk and
  5. Malewa West.

The first MP for Gilgil was Hon. Mathenge Nderitu who served between 2013 and 2017. His successor is Martha Wangari who was a nominated Senator from 2013.

Some of the main urban centers in Gilgil Constituency include Gilgil, Karunga, kikopey (Nyama Choma), Kongasis and Munanda.

Gilgil sub-county is home to Lake Elementaita which is one of the Nakuru Tourist Attractions. Lake Elementaita is popular with bird watching, camping and picnicking. A number of popular hotels will be found on shores of the lake offering accommodation and camping sites.

Other tourist attractions include the sleeping warrior (also known as Delamares nose) and the Kariandusi pre-historic site.

The constituency is home to two army barracks, the anti-stock theft and the National Youth Service (NYS).

Near Gilgil Town, there is a shopping center called Gilgil. In the early years of the 1950s the place had history of having a racetrack where motor racing used to take place. The place was named Langalanga by the Maasai people owing to the way the race cars would “go round and round.” The race track had been opened on 26th March 1951 by the famous rally enthusiast Eric Cecil. The circuit did not last and was closed a year later after a fatal accident. It was later reopened in Nakuru.

Gilgil Constituency MCAs (2013 – 2017)

  1. Gilgil Town – Jane Wangui Ngugi (Janetex)
  2. Murindat (Morendat) – Monicah Wangari Gitau
  3. Elementaita – Moses (Musa) Ndung’u Kamau
  4. Eburru- Mbaruk – Jane Simita Munka
  5. Malewa West – John Gathirwa Chege

Gilgil Constituency MCAs (2017)

  1. Gilgil Town – Jane Wangui Ngugi (Janetex)
  2. Murindat (Morendat) – Peter Njoroge Maina (PM)
  3. Elementaita – Moses (Musa) Ndung’u Kamau
  4. Eburru- Mbaruk – Samuel Kariuki Mugi
  5. Malewa West – Josephat Githinji Murage